The Pousada Palácio do Freixo was built in the mid-19th century to the design of the famous architect Nicolau Nasoni. The Palácio is a remarkable example of Portuguese architecture from the baroque period.
The converted building has preserved the entire façade of the original palace which was declared a National Monument in 1910. This unique hotel is composed of two separate but interconnected buildings. The original palace houses the elegant restaurant, bar, lounges and meeting rooms, whilst the former Harmonia Flour Factory contains 87 modern comfortable, air-conditioned guest rooms, some of which enjoy a magnificent view over the River Douro.
There are many leisure facilities and guests can choose to swim either in the indoor or outdoor swimming pools. For relaxation, there is a sauna and steam room and a Firtness Centre. The Pousada Palácio Do Freixo historic setting makes this hotel the ideal choice for those seeking leisure pursuits and relaxation or business.